Skip to content

A beginning

August 12, 2010

Well, previously I was writing a blog on myspace and this had not been a very productive enterprise.    First of all myspace does not offer much of a chance to reach an audience.   In order to get read you have to spend more time selling yourself then actually writing.  This is not a good position to be in and I did not enjoy it.

Previously my blog concerned itself chiefly with politics but I think that is too narrow a subject for me to not get bored with.  Much of this blog will be concerned with politics but it will be more about philosophy in general and applied philosophy in particular.  I may blog about subjects as varied as aesthetics, religion, ethics, epistemology (which the basics of Americans seem unable to grasp) and even about the sciences.

I will try and keep these blogs accessible but I have found that I am a bad judge of what is and is not accessible to a general audience.  Unlike most blogs I will neither placate my audience nor talk down to them.  I may repost a few of my myspace blogs here in order to get some content going but I intend to post my first blog of original material this weekend.  Thanks to anybody who followed me here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    August 12, 2010 6:39 pm

    I’m glad to have “followed” you here. I’ve rather missed out on reading your blogs due to my utter repulsion of Myspace lately. Looking forward to more material!

    • August 12, 2010 7:53 pm

      I am trying to make what I write a lot better now that I left myspace. They have totally screwed over bloggers there and put ridiculous limits on comments. Since I have been known to leave comments as long as long as the blogs themselves, especially when the blogger doesn’t know what they are talking about, this was the last straw with me.

  2. Sam permalink
    August 13, 2010 1:20 am

    Glad to see you started up a wordpress, if you find out how to add people on here let me know mine is : http://glennbeckstears.wordpress.com/my first blog is up. It was one i had been making grammatical revisions to on myspace before releasing it to the general audience. I had the same concerns with myspace that you did. Be sure and let me know on facebook or wherever when your next one is. How did you promote your blog on facebook from here? I couldn’t figure that out.

    • August 13, 2010 1:25 am

      I still have a lot of things to learn on here. You can simply copy and paste your blog address into your Facebook status update and it will show up. I will probably do that with all of mine.

  3. Sam permalink
    August 13, 2010 1:21 am

    http://glennbeckstears.wordpress.com/ * accidentally forgot to put a space after the link and before my

  4. August 14, 2010 2:51 pm

    I’m also from MySpace and starting up here. Would love any advice you would have for me.

    • August 14, 2010 8:21 pm

      Use the tags on your blogs and as many as you can think of. I am still learning how to use this program. It is easier to build an audience here. You don’t have to do as much legwork so my best advice is to use the tags and categories. Other than that I don’t know what to say. The community here isn’t much different than myspace. For instance, if you say something unpopular you will get attacked almost immediately.

Leave a Reply

